Congratulations to the 2018 Queensland Literary Award winners. I have Beth Wilson’s book Brisbane Houses with Gardens and I’m definitely going to buy Jackie Ryan’s book which last night received the Queensland Premier’s Award for a work of state significance.

Real life events explored through both non-fiction and fiction have been revealed as the winners of this year’s 2018 Queensland Literary Awards ceremony which was held last night at State Library of Queensland.

Jackie Ryan’s We’ll Show the World: Expo 88 received the $25,000 prize for the Queensland Premier’s Award for a work of State Significance, with the judges praising the Brisbane writer’s meticulous and amusing account of the major event that forever shifted perceptions of the sunshine state.

The Queensland Premier’s Young Publishers and Writers Awards ($12,500 packages) were presented to Brisbane-based poet Anna Jacobson and author Bri Lee. Bri’s debut work Eggshell Skull, was noted as an important book by the judges, not only for the strength of the writing, but the conversations it has since sparked about sexism within the justice system.

Taboo, by Western Australian writer and descendant of the Noongar people, Kim Scott received The University of Queensland Fiction Book Award, while Tracker by Alexis Wright from northern Australia’s Waanyi country was awarded The University of Queensland Non-Fiction Book Award ($15,000 each). Both books keep pivotal places and people alive in the minds of contemporary Australians.

The 2018 awards ceremony acknowledged the 30th anniversary of the Unpublished Indigenous Writer – David Unaipon Award, with The Making of Ruby Champion by Kirstie Parker announced as this year’s $15,000 winning manuscript.

Kirstie is a Yuwallarai woman from north-western NSW, with a distinguished career as a journalist, communicator and advocate. She now joins a host of exceptional writers as a recipient of this award, with alumni including Doris Pilkington Garimara AM, Ruth Hegarty and Larissa Behrendt.

The Queensland Literary Awards, managed by State Library of Queensland, honour outstanding books by Australian authors and champion new writing from young and emerging Queensland writers. Prizes are awarded across 14 categories in fiction, non-fiction, poetry, and published and unpublished works.

You can view the full list of winners here.

State Library of Queensland

Where – State Library of Queensland, Cultural Precinct

Website –